Society board meeting minutes 4-16-19


4/16/19 – Final

The SSC and the Constitutional Task Force each have an opening and are looking for recruits. Membership renewals are going well in Dallas and NAL. The trademark on the IFGS Chesspiece logo will need to be renewed this year.

The 4/16/19 Society Board Meeting was called to order at 8:04 p.m. Eastern Time, via Discord. Present were Board Members John Jones, Hugh Greene, Olan Knight, Pat McGehearty and Shelly Ralston. David Spence was absent, proxy to Gibson. Sarah Gibson arrived late. Hope Fountain from ORV Provisional Chapter and Society Clerk Janice Gott were also present.


MINUTES: MOTION: To approve the minutes of the 3/20/19 Board Meeting (Knight, Jones, 5-0-1, McGehearty abstained).

FRC REPORT: No report.

SSC REPORT: Kaaren Davis did not want to serve another term on the Society Sanctioning Committee. Jones is beginning another round of advertising for candidates, as the committee is one person short. Hugh Greene is interested if no one else can be found, but since Melanie Greene is on the SSC, it would be better to find a wider representation. The current task on the table for the SSC will be dealing with the determining legal magic items and pricing them in relation to the new rulebook and character classes. Also, the IFGS game library needs attention.

Sarah Gibson arrived.

REGISTRY: No activity.

TECH COMMITTEE: No activity.


CONSTITUTIONAL REVIEW TASK FORCE: Chris Seals wishes to continue on the Task Force, but Brad Evenson has bowed out. Greene will post for new recruits. The Task Force intends to tackle update to the Society By-laws next.

CHAPTER LIAISON UPDATES:  Hope Fountain reports that ORV has had a Game Master workshop, and is looking for sites for a summer game. Northern Alabama Chapter got their Discord Channel running. Dallas Chapter has been running games, always on the second Saturday of the month, so people can schedule in advance. Northern Alabama ran a game on March 30th and collected their annual memberships. Gott can order a run of new membership cards once she receives all the new members from chapters.

GAME WRITERS WORKSHOP: Dallas has had two Game Writers Workshops. The intent is to do a national one at some point.


TRADEMARK RENEWAL: The trademark on the chesspiece logo needs to be renewed at the Patent Office between its 9th & 10th years, or June 15, 2019 to June 15, 2020. The five-year “proof of use” was filed in the summer of 2015. (Serial Number 77800640, Registration Number 3802222)

NEXT BOARD MEETING: The next Board Meeting is scheduled for Wednesday, May 22nd, 2019. Times for the meeting are 5 pm Pacific, 6 pm MST, 7 pm CST, and 8 pm EST. The meeting will be held on Discord.  The meeting was adjourned at 8:36 pm EST.



Dallas – Ralston

Denver/Boulder – Spence

Norman – Spence

Pacific Northwest – Jones

Northern Alabama – Gibson


Greater Milwaukee – Greene

Ohio River Valley – Knight



Completed Tasks

Society-level electronic voting – Completed

Society Waiver Forms – Completed

Stoplight Policy – Completed

Milestone & Karma Awards – Completed

Business Cards – Available on Vistaprint

Updating Society Website to WordPress – Completed

In Process Tasks

Updating Governing Documents – In process with Society Task Force

Updated Committee Charters – In process with Society Task Force

On Hold

Expand and Revise Wiki (Possibly incorporating online rules.)

Sci-Fi Rules

Not Started

Updating GW Handbook–

Streamlining the payment processes between Society and Chapters –

Treasury Tracking –

Shared Calendar on Website –

Creation of a Treasury Handbook –

Membership Tracking –

Link Exchanges –

Research for 8.0 Rules Set –


Society Board Members

John Jones (TX) (2021) [Pres]

Sarah Gibson (TX) (2020) [VP]

Pat McGehearty (TX) (2020)

Shelly Ralston (OH) (2020)

Olan Knight (TX) (2021)

Hugh Greene (AL) (2021)

David Spence (TX) (2021)


Fantasy Rules Committee (FRC)

David Spence (TX) (2021) [Chair]

Henry Wood (TX) (2020) [Vice Chair]

Brad Evenson (CO) (2021)

Hugh Greene (TX) (2021)

Seth Bush (TX) (2020)

David Gibson (TX) (2020)

Michael Englerth (CO) (2020)

Society Sanctioning Committee (SSC)

John Jones (TX) (2020) [Chair]

Seth Bush (TX) (2021)

Olan Knight (TX) (2020)

Open (2021)

Melanie Greene (AL) (2021)

General Promotions Committee (SGP)

Sarah Gibson [Chair]

Jason Dziuk (2015)

open (2014)

open (2014)

Publications Committee

Members all informal appointments –

Elections Committee

Hope Fountain (OH)

Janice Gott (OH)

Registry Chair

Olan Knight (TX)

Tech Committee

Brett Paul (CO) Interim Chair

Robert Armstrong (TX) [potential Chair]

John Jones (TX)

Bethany Vann (OK)

Sarah Gibson (TX)


Safety Committee

Brad Evenson (CO) [Society Safety Officer]

David Ellis (CO)

Constitutional Review Task Force

Hugh Greene (AL) [Chair]

Christopher Seals (TX)